October 8: Virtually Yours with Femi Kayode

Light Seekers by Femi Kayode is the featured book for the series “Virtually Yours,” which runs on Saturday, October 8, 2022. He will be moderated by Zukiswa Wanner. The event hosted by Goethe-Institut Namibia will run from 4pm GMT, 5pm WAT, 6pm CAT, and 7pm EAT. Click here to register for the session.

Virtually Yours is a regional project of Goethe-Institut Sub Saharan Africa, a series of online discussions with contemporary authors from Africa. “Virtually Yours” aims to create an online platform for avid readers, writers, academics, publishers, agents, and anyone else interested in literature by writers from Africa. The series of online discussions held once a month has featured Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor, Oswalde Lewat, Niq Mhlongo, Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi, Tendai Huchu, Natasha Omokhodion-Kalulu Banda, Ondjaki, Ishmael Beah, Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu, Rémy Ngamije, and Nadifa Mohamed.

Femi Kayode grew up in Lagos, Nigeria. He studied Psychology at the University of Ibadan and has worked in advertising over the last two decades. He was a Packard Fellow in Film and Media at the University of Southern California and a Gates-Packard Fellow in International Health at the University of Washington, Seattle. His writing credits include several award winning work for the stage and screen. He holds an MA in Creative Writing – Crime Fiction at the University of East Anglia, where Lightseekers won the Little, Brown/UEA Crime Fiction Award. He is currently pursuing a PhD in Crime Fiction at Bath Spa University where he is exploring the use of Systems Thinking for plotting the contemporary crime novel. He lives in Namibia with his family.

In his crime novel Lightseekers, Nigerian author Femi Kayode reconstructs a lynching of three students in Port Harcourt – and tells of a deeply torn country between civil war, corruption and organised violence. Selected as a Best Crime Novel of the Month by The Times, Sunday Times, Independent, Guardian, Observer, Financial Times and Irish Times.

Join the discussion at the following times;

05:00 PM West African Time (WAT) Lagos, Luanda, Yaoundé

06:00 PM Central African Time (CAT) Windhoek, Johannesburg

07:00 PM East African Time (EAT) Nairobi, Addis Abeba

To register for this event please click here.

Virtually Yours, Goethe-Institut,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *