Virtually Yours with Gauz

September 9: Virtually Yours with Gauz

Cocoaïans by Gauz is the featured book for the series “Virtually Yours,” which runs on Saturday, September 9, 2022. He will be moderated by Renee Edwige Dro. The event hosted by Goethe-Institut Namibia will run from 4pm GMT, 5pm WAT, 6pm CAT, and 7pm EAT. Click here to register for the session.

Virtually Yours is a regional project of Goethe-Institut Sub Saharan Africa, a series of online discussions with contemporary authors from Africa. “Virtually Yours” aims to create an online platform for avid readers, writers, academics, publishers, agents, and anyone else interested in literature by writers from Africa. The series of online discussions held once a month has featured Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor, Oswalde Lewat, Niq Mhlongo, Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi, Tendai Huchu, Natasha Omokhodion-Kalulu Banda, Ondjaki, Ishmael Beah, Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu, Rémy Ngamije, and Nadifa Mohamed.

This month’s guest is Gauz who will be speaking about his newest nonfiction title Cocoaïans which was published by L’ Arche Editions on August 19. The new book has the following blurb;

An extensive historical fresco through the 20th century, Cocoaïans tells the story of chocolate and the world’s dependence on cocoa powder. From the bean to the processed product, the cultivation and trade of cocoa reflect the relations of domination imposed by the West on the producing countries of Africa. Between the fields of cocoa trees and the chocolate bars of industrial groups, traditions, globalization and neocolonialism intersect.

From Côte d’Ivoire, from the Gbaka forest to Treichville, from 1908 to 2031, Gauz’ recounts the project of the Cocoaïans, the inhabitants of Cocoaland to emancipate themselves from the processes of capitalist exploitation. Cocoaïans unfolds in several voices and takes us in the footsteps of those who had to transform their country under the pressure of the settlers, betrayals and compromises, and the decisive influence of socialism within these power struggles.

Gauz’ launches the idea of ​​an Africa that would reclaim the product of its labor and its means of production, to free itself from the alienation induced by post-colonial capitalism.

Join the discussion at the following times;

05:00 PM West African Time (WAT) Lagos, Luanda, Yaoundé

06:00 PM Central African Time (CAT) Windhoek, Johannesburg

07:00 PM East African Time (EAT) Nairobi, Addis Abeba

To register for this event please click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *