Virtually Yours with Oswalde Lewat

March 12: Virtually Yours with Oswalde Lewat

Oswalde Lewat’s Les Aquatiques is the featured book for “Virtually Yours,” runs on March 12, 2022. She will be moderated by Edwige-Renée Dro. The event hosted by Goethe-Institut Abidjan will run from 4pm GMT, 5pm WAT, 6pm CAT, and 7pm EAT.

Virtually Yours is a regional project of Goethe-Institut Sub Saharan Africa, a series of online discussions with contemporary authors from Africa. “Virtually Yours” aims to create an online platform for avid readers, writers, academics, publishers, agents, and anyone else interested in literature by writers from Africa.

The series of online discussions held once a month from October has featured Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor, Niq Mhlongo, Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi, Tendai Huchu, Natasha Omokhodion-Kalulu Banda, Ondjaki, Ishmael Beah, Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu, Rémy Ngamije, and Nadifa Mohamed.

The featured guest for March is Photographer, director and writer Oswalde Lewat. Originally from Cameroon, she began to share her visual and narrative universe through documentary films. As an award-winning author of works that deal with socio-political issues and reflect on otherness, she published her first novel, Les Aquatiques, in August 2021.

The Aquatics tells the story of an African woman, a teacher, married to a man of power, mother of two children, whose well-ordered, conventional world is turned upside down the day her best friend, the one she considers her brother, is arrested and thrown into prison.

In February, the book won the Grand Prix Panafricain de Littérature the first running of the exciting new initiative.

Register for this Virtual Gathering at the link below and stand the chance of winning a copy by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *